Skip to main content

Back to Certifications

Certificate Irrigation Designer


Who is Certification for?

If you’re currently designing irrigation systems that are efficient and sustainable, then you may wish to become a Certified Irrigation Designer (CID). The certification grants you a point of difference in the market and a Certified Irrigation Designer is highly regarded by customers to provide a service that meets or exceeds the average industry standards. 

Irrigation Australia Ltd is licensed to deliver the Certified Irrigation Designer (CID) program from the Irrigation Association (US). The certification is exam based. All marking and grading of exams are done in the USA. More than one speciality can be obtained.

Download CID Factsheet

How to Apply



A minimum of two to three years' experience in an irrigation or related field is recommended to become a Certified Irrigation Designer.

Upon completion of the online application form the Certification Team will assess your application and if it meets the criteria, you will be approved for the program. Your application fee will need to be paid and you will then be sent the Step 2/3 Reference Manual and resources required to commence the CID program.  You will also be sent a booklist which references the Irrigation 6th edition (available for our online store under books and publications.  This publication is referenced throughout the CID exam process.


After sufficient time to review the study material and you feel confident enough to sit the exam, you can login to the website and apply to sit this exam via your profile page and this will raise an invoice for the cost of the exam. 

The Certification Team will then organise a supervisor, a date and location to sit your pre-qualification exam.

A pass mark of 70% is required to proceed to Step 3. You can resit the exam if you don't achieve the pass mark (one month minimum time after the date of your exam)  if you fail which incurs a further cost.



After successful completion of the Pre-qualification you can now apply for Step 3.  You will need to choose your path:

General Agriculture (GA); or

General Landscape (GL)

The relevant study material will be sent to you and after sufficient time you will notify the Certification Team that you are ready to sit the exam.

We will arrange a time, date, location and a supervisor .

A passmark of 65% is required for this exam. 

Following a successful result you will then be ready to move onto the last step - Step 4 - Specialty


CID - Agriculture Specialties

  • drip/micro irrigation (ADM)
  • sprinkler irrigation (ASP)
  • surface (ASUR)

CID - Landscape Specialties

  • golf course irrigation (LTG)
  • residential/commercial irrigation (LTC)

The Step 4 Specialty Exams  are the pathway following successful completion of the Step 3 General Agriculture (GA) and/or Step 3 General Landscape (GL) exam.  More than one specialty can be obtained. A pass mark of 70% or more is required for this exam.



  • Drip Micro Irrigation
  • Surface Irrigation
  • Sprinkler Irrigation



  • Residential/Commercial Irrigation (LTC) or
  • Specialty Golf Course Irrigation (LTG)

Maintaining Certification

Every 12 months certified irrigation designers are required to complete a re-certification process.

Irrigation Australia ensures that certified personnel remain active in the industry and are keeping their knowledge and skills up-to-date.

Participants can demonstrate this by earning the required continuous professional development points (CPD) in the required timeframe to maintain their active status. Those failing to earn the required CPD points or pay their renewal fee will be considered inactive.

Irrigation Australia aims to conduct random audits of 5% of all CPD returns each year.

10 points are required every 12 months, regardless of how many CID credentials you have. Points awarded above 10 (to a maximum of 10 points) can be accrued to the next year and applied as carry-over points (IAL certification staff will need to apply this if applicable).

How to add your CPD

To upload your CPD you will need to go to login at our website and select 'My CPD' then click 'Add Activity' icon. Fill out the information, including the dates, choose the activity from the Category drop-down list, add a description, upload supporting documentation, and add pertinent CPD points.

These activities will be approved and verified by Irrigation Australia.  Your renewal invoice will be located under 'My Purchases' .   You will receive an email advising that you have met the criteria for renewal.

Reminders will be sent periodically both before and after your renewal date.

If you are experiencing difficulty, please contact Irrigation Australia on 1800 949 891 or [email protected] and we can assist with your renewal or CPD activity.

The points chart for this certification can be downloaded     HERE 

Inactive Status

Certified Irrigation Designers who do not renew are considered to be inactive and are not permitted to use their CID status for professional reasons until they renew their certification.

If the inactive period is less than three years, renewal can be made by paying all renewal fees and submitting sufficient CPD points to cover the inactive period/s.

If the inactive period is for more than three years, the certification is forfeited and re-certification will require the applicant to start the certification process over from the beginning, including all relevant examinations.

  • Certification Cost Breakdown
  • Step 1 Application Fee
  • Step 2 Pre-Qualification Exam
  • Step 3 General Exam (Agriculture & Landscape Turf)
  • Step 4 Speciality Exam - Agriculture: Drip Micro (ADM) ; Sprinkler (ASP); Surface (ASUR)
  • Step 4 Speciality Exam - Landscape Turf
  • Resit Exam
  • Certification Annual Renewal Fee
  • Member Pricing
  • $200
  • $440
  • $440
  • $440
  • $440
  • $310
  • $165
  • Non-Member Pricing
  • $300
  • $660
  • $660
  • $660
  • $660
  • $330
  • $230

Become a Certified Irrigation Designer

Apply Now

Centre of Irrigation Excellence Sponsors