Skip to main content

Back to Certifications

Certificate Irrigation Manager


Who is Certification for?

If you are currently a farmer, farm manager, parks superintendent or turf manager responsible for applying water in irrigation systems you may be eligible to become a Certified Irrigation Manager. You will currently be implementing best practice in irrigation and water use and can recognise and minimise the environmental impacts of irrigation.

The certification grants you a point of difference in the market and a Certified Irrigation Manager is highly regarded by customers to provide a service that meets or exceeds the average industry standards.

Download Factsheet

How to Apply

To become a Certified Irrigation Manager you need to be actively working in the irrigation industry, plus have three years relevant experience that includes:

  • Operating irrigation and drainage systems
  • Identifying and troubleshooting problems
  • Measuring and monitoring system performance
  • Skills and knowledge

To become certified you will need to prove you can meet the requirements of five units of competency:

  • AHCIRG435 Determine hydraulic parameters for an irrigation system
  • AHCIRG436 Implement an irrigation-related environmental protection program
  • AHCIRG437 Schedule irrigations
  • AHCIRG444 Manage irrigation systems
  • AHCSOL406 Sample soils and interpret results

Note: other Statement of Attainments that have similar skills and knowledge will be considered.

Maintaining Certification

Every 2 years participants are required to complete a re-certification process.

Irrigation Australia ensures that certified personnel remain active in the industry and are keeping their knowledge and skills up-to-date.

Participants can demonstrate this by earning the required CPD – Continuous Professional Development points in the required timeframe to maintain their active status. Those failing to earn the required CPD points will be considered inactive.

Irrigation Australia will conduct random audits of 5% of all CPD returns each year.

10 points are needed every 12 months no matter how many CIA credentials you have. Points awarded above 10 (to a maximum of 10 points) can be accrued to the next year.

How to add your CPD

To renew your Certification online, you will need to go to MY CPD via the Member Centre and click ADD ACTIVITY. You can select from the drop down list and add relevant points to your CPD.

These activities will be approved and verified by IAL and upon reaching the minimum of 10 points over the 12 months. You will receive an email advising that you have met the criteria for renewal.

Reminders will be sent periodically both before and after your renewal date.

If you are experiencing difficulty, please contact the IAL office on 1800 949 891 or [email protected] and we can assist with your renewal or CPD activity

Inactive Statuses

Certified Irrigation Managers who do not renew are considered to be inactive and are not permitted to use their CIM status for professional reasons until they renew their certification.

If the inactive period is less than four years, renewal can be made by paying all renewal fees and submitting sufficient CPD - Continuous Professional Development points to cover the inactive period/s.

If the inactive period is for more than four years, the certification is forfeited and re-certification will require the applicant to start the certification process over from the beginning, including all relevant training.

  • Certification Cost Breakdown
  • Certification Application Fee
  • Certification Renewal Fee
  • Member Pricing
  • $345
  • $290
  • Non-Member Pricing
  • $515
  • $440

Become a Certified Irrigation Manager 

Apply Now

Centre of Irrigation Excellence Sponsors